top of page
Search
  • kirillvlasov598

Myotome | anatomy | Britannica[^4^]



I have an express.js based cloud functions app on firebase in a function named api. To use a custom domain, I'm trying to use Firebase Hosting rewrites to route the specific URL to the function.I'm following the official documentation about cloud functions and Firebase hosting here, , and have tried many combinations including the following:


But I got the same problem, the function is never called.I read about how the rewrites are last resort options and if there are files present in the hosting, it will not go to the specified function.(I tried looking for the SO post where this ws mentioned but I can't find it) So I removed the 404.html and index.html files from hosting's public directory, since I don't need them anyway. But the problem still remained.




otome function



Calling this endpoint, now rewrites to -firebase-app.cloudfunctions.net/main/api which is technically correct. You can then add more top-level functions by simply adding them to your main function if you wish:


As I would soon learn, otome games function a lot like other visual novels in that most of the story is text-based, with occasional moments in which you're offered some Choose Your Own Adventure-style options to determine your fate. In some visual novels, like the Zero Escape series, choice points can have you stumbling blindly toward your own demise. In otome games, however, choosing the "right" option often results in hearts, flowers, sound effects, or some other feedback, letting you know your decision has increased affection points with your chosen guy. (This is a feature I sorely miss in real life.)


These days, however, dating anime men is a lot more mainstream. Following the success of Hakuōki (and later, Code:Realize), Aksys Games in particular has continued to localize otome games for the console market. Additionally, JAST USA recently returned to the otome scene with TAISHO x ALICE episode 1, and a third visual novel publisher, MangaGamer, has since entered the fray with OZMAFIA!! in 2016. So what makes otome games so good, anyway?


Times like these, when everybody's going stir-crazy in their houses, sometimes you just need to get away from it all with a little escapism. That's where otome games come in! There are lots of exciting options, including (but not limited to):


As you can see, like with visual novels in general, otome games have a little something for everyone. There's no shortage of safe indoor entertainment here. But be warned: just because romance is a critical element of otome games, it doesn't mean the plots are always sunshine and rainbows. What if you're looking for something a little more, shall we say, dangerous?


In my favorite otome game of all time, you play as the spirit of a girl who died in an accident. In one route, you fall in love with a fellow spirit from the 1920s, only for him to pass on to the afterlife shortly before you yourself are brought back to your previous life. When you search the real world for any trace of your beloved, you learn that he is survived by his great-grand-nephew who is the spitting image of the young man you met in purgatory. He's not really the same person; you know that, and indeed, he knows that. But nevertheless, you fall in love all over again.


This is, I think, a metaphor for how I experience otome games. Although many recycle the same tropes, plots, or character archetypes, no two are ever exactly alike. But in each of them, I see something I recognize. Something I yearn for. A nostalgia I can't quite place.


In the end, it was that period of unemployment that gave me the push I needed to finally dip my toe into Japanese-to-English translation. Years later, now that I'm a paid professional, I pay it forward by translating otome games whenever I have the opportunity. My dream is for the media I work on to inspire people the same way Dandelion and countless other titles have inspired me.


Maybe you'll favor the more headstrong protagonists of Western otome games over the "blank slates" common in Japanese otome. Maybe you'll prefer Korean voice acting. Maybe you'll choose happy endings over the tragic ones. You don't have to share my tastes in order to have a good time; the games I've highlighted here are just a drop in the bucket compared to what's out there.


Now, VitaminX has collaborated with the popular iPhone and Android app Bedtime Boyfriend (aka Soine Kareshi, Sleepy-time Boyfriend, and Sleepy Boy). Players can use the app to fall asleep while listening to a handsome man whisper sweet words. It also features an alarm function enabling players to wake up to their favorite guy talking to them.


New audio was recorded for the app, even including the quiet sound of breathing while sleeping. If you listen to the character as they sleep, you can also view their adorable, yet handsome sleeping faces. With this function, you can really fall asleep with your favorite character.


For the longest time Rainbow Weaver (aka Thomas) has been the lone savior of Manhattan, that is until four students on a field trip are bitten by a much more powerful and enhanced super spider. Now it's up to Thomas to train Patton, Logan, Roman and Virgil so that they can properly function in society and maybe kick so butt on the way. 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page